27th SVRA Collier Cup Race & Bucher/Decker Trophy

Photo for 27th SVRA Collier Cup Race & Bucher/Decker Trophy

Much will be written about racers who struggled to find their way to Watkins Glen for this year’s SVRA US Vintage Grand Prix with the Southern Tier Expressway shut down due to massive flooding and related mischief. Nonetheless, the race went on with weather being a minimal factor for racers who braved the detours and washed out roads.

As always, the MGVR gang had a great time racing in their groups while anticipating the Saturday afternoon Collier Cup race. Forty five MGs including eight MGAs signed on for this year’s Collier Cup race; by the green flag attrition took its toll as forty MGs took to the track.

In the Late 1950s a competitive, and yet friendly, rivalry developed between two upstate New York MGA racers. Bob Bucher and Sherm Decker won the Collier Cup in identically prepared MGAs (incidentally prepared by Sherm Decker) from 1956 through 1959. NAMGAR honors the memory of these two racers, competitors and friends, by awarding the Bucher/Decker Memorial Trophy annually to the highest placed MGA in the Collier Cup race.

Bill TreffertThis year’s winner, Bill Treffert, is the second Treffert to win this prize; Todd Treffert won last year. Not too far behind was Bill’s daughter, Dawn Myers, a rookie MGA racer who is running among veterans after only four races! Third MGA this year was Mark Brandow in his beautiful gray MGA roadster, followed by speedy David Good, and Tom Baumgardner. #222 Dick Powers, a Collier Cup veteran, finished barely ahead of Bob Schoeplein. Bringing up the rear with more than his share of MGA gremlins was Twin Cam Jim Holody, who traded in his twinkie for the John Burgess ex-Sebring MGA.

Other winners included Charles Guest/Midget (Cornett Trophy for first place), Don Munoz/MGB GT V-8, second overall, John McCue/Midget, third overall (Glanville Trophy for Midgets), Manley Ford/MGTD (Jack Archibald trophy for first production T Series). This year’s Collier Cup winner, as selected by the MG vintage racers who participated in the 27th Collier Cup race, was Larry Smith.

2011 Collier Cup WinnersCollier Cup Race Winners (L to R) Bill Treffert, Charles Guest, Manley Ford, John McCue, Larry Smith, Don Munoz.

Congratulations to all MG vintage racers who participated in this year’s Collier Cup race for MGs!

Stay current with NAMGAR, MGA news, and more:   Subscribe to updates by email

Reader Comments (0)

There are no comments for this article. To share your comments, use the form below.

Tell us what you think

We welcome your feedback! Enter your information below to add a new comment.

Are you a NAMGAR member? Login before posting your comment

Name: (required)

Email: (required, will not be published)


Your Website Address / URL:

Your Comment: (required)

Remember my personal information for next time

Notify me of follow-up comments via email

Enter the word you see below:

Comments may be held for moderation. If your comment does not appear immediately, do not repost. We reserve the right to remove any inappropriate or off-topic comments. Want others to know who you are? Register a Gravatar.

Your privacy is important to us. Read our privacy policy

Last updated on November 29, 2011.